Sharad Navratri – Day 2 Brahmacharini

The second form of Mother Durga’s new power is that of Brahmacharini. Brahmacharini means follower of Tenacity. The form of Brahmacharini Devi is fully lit and very magnificent. The garland of chanting in her right hand “Kamandalu” remains in the left hand. In her former birth, she was born as a daughter of the Himalayas, and through Narada’s sermon, she did extremely difficult penance to get Lord Shankar as her husband. Due to this arduous austerity, he was named as Tapashcharini i.e. Brahmacharini.

She spent a thousand years eating only fruits and roots. Had to subsist for hundred years only on herbs. Having a hard fast for a few days, under the open sky, suffered terrible sufferings of rain and sunlight. Due to this difficult austerity of several thousand years, the body of the former birth of Brahmacharini Devi became completely degraded. She had become very agrarian. Her mother Maina became very sad to see her condition. He gave them a voice to overcome that difficult austerity, ‘Uma’, hey! Since then, one of the previous births of Goddess Brahmacharini was also named Uma.

Her austerity caused chaos in all three worlds. Gods, sages, determinative sages all started praising Brahmacharini Devi for this austerity as an unprecedented virtuous act. Finally, “Pitamah Brahmaji” addressed him through Oracle and said – ‘O Goddess! No one had done such a hard penance until today. Such austerity was possible with you only. Your supernatural act is being roundly appreciated. Your wish will be perfect you will get “Lord Chandramauli Shiv” as your husband. Now you overcome with penance and return home. Soon your father is coming to call you.

This second form of Goddess Durga is going to give eternal fruits to devotees and Siddhas. Their worship leads to the growth of human tenacity, sacrifice, quietness, virtue, self-control. Even in the difficult struggles of life, her mind does not deviate from the path of duty. By the grace of Goddess Brahmacharini, she attains perfection and victory everywhere. The same form is worshiped on the second day of Durga Puja. On this day, the mind of the seeker is situated in the ‘Swadhisthana’ cycle. A yogi with a mind situated in this chakra receives her grace and devotion. Read More…

Published by

ashok725 "Aks"

Hi ! I am Ashok Sharma. I studied at Maharishi Dayanand University, Rohtak, Haryana, India. Reading and writing have been my hobbies since childhood. Do not try to plan everything in the very last detail. Just create it, publish it and get feed back from you. But if you really want to grow then you will need points of leverage and most of them come from knowing people. Change is going to be continuous. It is a beginning, not an end. It will be my constant endeavor to thank the readers for their love, guidance and interest that I can do better than ever……..

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s